Deputy Principals' Conference 2018RSS

The conference took place on Thursday 19th and Friday 20th April in Citywest Hotel, Saggart, Co. Dublin.

Five Special Interest Groups were held on Thursday afternoon:

  • Newly-appointed Deputy Principals - Facilitated by Ann Ryan  

  • Deputy Principals in Gaelscoileanna - Facilitated by Pat Connaghan

  • Deputy Principals in DEIS schools - Facilitated by Louise Tobin

  • Deputy Principals in Special Schools/Schools with Autism/S&L Units - Facilitated by Donal Kerins 

  • Deputy Principals Mentoring and Support Groups - Facilitated by Jack Durkan and Pat Goff.


At the plenary session on Thursday evening, Jan O'Sullivan, Deputy Principal of Corpus Christi PS, Moyross, welcomed attendees. Damian White, IPPN Deputy President facilitated the session and IPPN CEO Páiric Clerkin and Chief Inspector Harold Hislop addressed the 300+ deputy principals present.

Five concurrent seminars were held on Friday morning (two sessions):

  • Restorative Practices – Ann Ryan & Richie Walsh

  • Our School: Developing Leadership for Learning - Kathryn Corbett

  • Child Protection – ongoing awareness - Donal Kerins

  • Assessment and Planning for Students with Special Education Needs (Primary) - Madeline Hickey, Sarah Barnes and Carmel Ní Laoire, NCSE

  • Improving Teaching and Learning through SSE - Martin Whyte, Divisional Inspector, and Leo Kilroy, Primary Inspector, DES.


Three keynote speakers addressed the audience on Friday afternoon:

  • David Ruddy, IPPN President
  • Richard Bruton TD, Minister for Education & Skills
  • Dr Anne Looney, Executive Dean, Dublin City University.

Keynote speaker notes and presentations are available through the Keynote Speeches & Presentations link below. Seminar presentation materials that were made available can be accessed by clicking the Seminar Presentations link below. 


IPPN Sponsors